top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOsama Mohammed

Managers are "People's Work Managers" not "People Managers"



I do not like the term of people manager, I feel it is a kind of derogatory for the person and that the manager controls the person. Whereas what I see is correct that the manager is the manager of the other person's work and not the manager of the person. Meaning, for example, we say this is my work manager or the manager of my work in company, not my manager. Because it is logical that the manager manages the work that I do, and he determines whether my work is correct and acceptable or not, and controls it. But he doesn't control me and he can't judge me as a person outside work and whether what I'm doing is right and acceptable or not. Our saying that this person is the manager of a person means that we have given him an absolute control so that this manager manages this person even outside of work. Perhaps many may see this point as marginal and unimportant, but for me I see it important and sensitive, especially for some personalities. Personally, I may be negatively affected by a point like this. In this context, there is some studies that we can link it to this subject, for example there is a study in psychology conducted by a group of researchers on a number of students in order to test a hypothesis that was proposed in 1966, which concerned the study of the love of freedom of the individual and his reaction when dealing with controlling managers. This study showed that the level of students is unconsciously negatively affected when they encounter the name of a person they consider a controlling person. In a study also, the results showed that this type of people who are negatively affected by the people who are trying to control them act either in a conscious or unconscious way, so that they reach a stage where they act unconsciously to defend their freedom when they just feel that the person in front of them intends to control them. To the extent that they may take any action to defend their freedom, and this may lead them to problems in the workplace. Understanding something like this is important in the workplace and in the business, whether it is for the affected people or the managers. As for the affected people, they can be trained on how to deal with this feeling and deal with it and with the controlling managers, as well as for the managers to understand the people who they run their work and to know how to deal with them in a positive way that does not affect the quality and atmosphere of the work.

1 view0 comments
bottom of page